MINUTES Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee Meeting August 23, 2011 Meeting via WebEx and Conference Call

The meeting convened at 2:15pm EST (15 minutes late due to an earthquake in central Virginia).

The meeting was called to order and opened by Committee Chair, Eugenio Piñeiro-Soler. MPA Center Staff Member Julia Townsend took the roll call and established the presence of a quorum. The Chair reviewed the agenda, and noted that the purpose of the meeting was for the Committee to vote on the Coastal and Marine Spatial Planning (CMSP) white paper that had been discussed previously by conference call on August 16th. CMSP Subcommittee Chair Russell Moll thanked the white paper writing team leads for their hard work and reviewed the rules for the discussion.

Brian Melzian suggested that the Committee submit the white paper to the Secretaries of Commerce and the Interior with the request that they submit it to the Interagency writing team for the CMSP Strategic Action Plan (SAP) at the National Ocean Council level. The group agreed that ideally these recommendations would be made available to federal agencies involved in CMSP as soon as possible so that they could be considered as during the SAP drafting process.

Gary Kania expressed concern that he did not see his comments incorporated in this document and as a result felt that it focused too heavily on resource protection rather than sustainable use. He questioned the timeline for completing the document, since the Committee could provide input to the National Ocean Policy process outside of the public comment period. David Wallace agreed and expressed concern about the lack of sufficient coordination with regional Fishery Management Councils in the CMSP process. He suggested taking a fresh look at the document to more adequately represent fishing interests. Michele Ridgway commented that fishing interests are diverse and that that she would not characterize the paper as lacking support from the fishing community.

The group went through the document and made some grammatical edits and suggestions for changes that were captured by MPA Center Staff Member Julia Townsend in "track changes" on the document. Jesus Ruiz requested that the language on p.13 related to SCUBA diving be restored to the 8/16/11 version. After discussion, the Committee agreed upon language that refers to "non-extractive recreational SCUBA diving and heritage tourism."

Subcommittee Chair Russell Moll suggested that the Committee postpone the vote for two weeks from today to review outstanding comments from members and see if they could be addressed. The Committee agreed to defer voting for no more than two weeks. In the meantime, the CMSP Subcommittee Chair and Vice-Chair agreed to work with members of the Committee to resolve issues that were raised during today's call. Hans Radtke remarked that overall many Committee members feel this is a good piece of work and recommended not changing the paper radically. Russ Moll requested any additional comments be sent to Julia Townsend by September 8th.

The Committee adjourned at 3:45pm EST.

Committee members present:

Mr. Eugenio Piñeiro-Soler, Chair

Ms. Lori Arguelles, Vice Chair

Dr. Russell Moll, CMSP Subcommittee, Chair

Dr. Pricilla Brooks, CMSP Subcommittee, Writing Team

Ms. Karen Garrison, CMSP Subcommittee, Writing Team

Mr. Bruce A. Tackett, CMSP Subcommittee, Writing Team

Mr. Joe Schumacker*, CMSP Subcommittee, Writing Team

Dr. Felicia Coleman

Mr. Gary Davis

Mr. Rick Gaffney

Mr. John Frampton

Dr. David Hyrenbach

Mr. Gary Kania

Mr. Victor Mastone*

Dr. Robert Pomeroy

Dr. Hans Radtke

Ms. Michelle Ridgway

Mr. Jesús Ruiz*

Dr. Della Scott-Ireton *

Mr. David H. Wallace

Mr. Robert Wargo

Ex Officio Federal Representatives and Other Federal Staff present:

Dr. Steven Jameson, NOAA, Program Planning and Integration

Capt. Robin Fitch, Department of Defense, Navy

Mr. Bret Wolfe, US Fish and Wildlife Service

Dr. Brian Melzian, EPA

NOAA National Marine Protected Areas Center staff:

Ms. Lauren Wenzel, Acting Director/Acting Designated Federal Official

Dr. Valerie Grussing, Cultural Resources Coordinator

Ms. Julia Townsend, CMSP Subcommittee Staff, Program Analyst

^{*}Also a member of the Cultural Heritage Resources Workgroup.